2019 WHCA Scholarship Winners. Photo for WHCA by Mike Theiler.

Current Winners



The White House Correspondents’ Association is pleased to announce its 2019 scholarship winners in partnership with a record total of 12 university partners.

The honorees include a diverse group of graduate and undergraduate students, from the United States and abroad, studying at schools around the country.

The latest partner is American University. The other schools that work with the WHCA are Arizona State University, Columbia University, the George Washington University, Grambling State University, Howard University, Iowa State University, Northwestern University, Ohio University, the University of California at Berkeley, the University of Maryland and the University of Missouri.

The students – some will be announced later this year – will receive a total of $196,282 in grants, including $118,000 from the association and $78,282 from the schools.

Most will be recognized at a luncheon with White House correspondents on April 26, and at the association’s annual dinner on April 27.

“It’s a pleasure and a privilege to recognize and reward some of the most promising voices in the next generation of American journalists,” said Olivier Knox, president of the WHCA. “This diverse group of winners embodies the principle that a free and independent news media is vital to the health of the republic.”

“The WHCA is proud to partner with universities and news organizations from around the country to celebrate these scholars. On April 26, we will welcome them to our customary luncheon, where they will meet with WHCA members. We will also introduce the winners at our annual dinner.”

Current Winners