President Trump makes remarks as he meets with South Korean president, Moon Jae-in in the Oval Office, Tuesday May 22, 2018. (photo by Doug Mills/The New York Times)



Announcing 2020 Awards

The WHCA is proud to announce several prestigious professional journalism awards that highlight our colleagues’ significant accomplishments in the field. The 2020 awards will be presented April 25 at the association’s annual dinner.

The Aldo Beckman Award for Overall Excellence in White House Coverage

This award recognizes a correspondent who personifies the journalistic excellence and personal qualities of Aldo Beckman, a former president of the White House Correspondents’ Association and correspondent for the Chicago Tribune. Established in 1981, the Aldo Beckman, a joint effort of The Tribune Company and the WHCA, carries a cash prize of $1,000.  

See the CALL FOR ENTRIES here.

Submit Entries HERE.

The Merriman Smith Award for Excellence in Presidential News Coverage Under Deadline Pressure

The Merriman Smith Memorial Award for excellence in presidential news coverage under deadline pressure originated in 1970 in memory of Merriman Smith of United Press International, a White House correspondent for more than thirty years. The $2,500 award was conceived to perpetuate Mr. Smith’s memory and to promote the excellence he brought to his profession. The award is offered in two categories:  

  • PRINT Newspaper, wire service, magazine  
  • BROADCAST Radio and television  

See the CALL FOR ENTRIES here.

Submit Entries HERE.

The Award for Excellence in Presidential News Coverage by Visual Journalists

The award, to be presented for the first time at the 2020 dinner, will recognize a video or photojournalist for uniquely covering the presidency from a journalistic standpoint, either at the White House or in the field. This could be breaking news, a scheduled event or feature coverage. The award will be based on a single piece of visual journalism and will come with a prize of $1,000.

See the CALL FOR ENTRIES here.

Submit Entries HERE

The Katharine Graham Award for Courage and Accountability

The inaugural $10,000 Katharine Graham Award for Courage and Accountability will be presented at the 2020 dinner. It recognizes an individual or newsgathering team for coverage of subjects and events of significant national or regional importance in line with the human and professional qualities exemplified by the late Katharine Graham, the distinguished former publisher of The Washington Post.

Judges will look for excellence in stories with fairness and objectivity in selecting a recipient, and special consideration will be given to reporting undertaken despite adversity.

See the CALL FOR ENTRIES here.

Submit Entries HERE.

Collier Prize for State Government Accountability

The 2020 dinner will include the inaugural presentation of the $25,000 Collier Prize for State Government Accountability, administered by the University of Florida’s College of Journalism and Communications to recognize outstanding statehouse reporting. The deadline for submitting entries for that award is Jan. 31. Information about that award and submission information can be found here