2019 WHCA Scholarship Winners. Photo for WHCA by Mike Theiler.

Meet the next generation of journalists fighting for first amendment freedoms


The White House Correspondents’ Association Scholarships

The WHCA supports several scholarships aimed at encouraging a new generation of reporters. 

In addition to their featured place at the annual dinner, scholarship awardees are honored at a luncheon the day before the dinner, where they are given the opportunity to interact with and learn from working journalists and other notables. Since 2016, scholarship winners have been paired with an active White House correspondent to serve as a career and professional mentor.

In 2020, the scholarship program is expanding with a new partnership with the University of Kansas.

It joins the roster of existing WHCA scholarship partners:

American University,Arizona State University,  Columbia University, The George Washington University, Grambling State University, Howard University, Iowa State University. Northwestern University, Ohio University, the University of California at Berkeley, the University of Maryland and the University of Missouri.